cafe public intellectual

Home » Uncategorized » Last Hurrah: Gaile Yaneza’s Beautiful Story

Last Hurrah: Gaile Yaneza’s Beautiful Story

Let me cap off this assignment with a beautiful story from Gaile Yaneza of A51.  I love reading your stories and reflections (also knowing a little bit about you):)  I had a blast:)

 

THE WANDERING SOUL

Posted on June 9, 2013

0

When I first woke up in this world, I knew for sure that I didn’t belong here. Although I couldn’t remember much about the world I originally came from, I managed to recall a few hazy memories that didn’t involve an unfamiliar and ethereal place such as this one. In my mind, I could see blurry images of a bustling metropolis, a bar and a burning town, but I can’t really recall anything else. The only thing I was sure of was my name. Tifa Lockhart.

Tifa Lockhart

Tifa Lockhart

Everything about this place felt new to me. A massive flat area of crystallized ice was spread in all directions. It seemed to go on forever. The floor felt cool under my combat boots but the place wasn’t so chilly. I kept walking, with no idea at all as to where I’m going. But somehow, it felt as though my own two feet were taking me somewhere.

I reached what seemed to be the center of the whole area. There was a platform in the middle flanked by two shell like structures. It was here I encountered other warriors like me. If you looked at us, we’d look like a really strange bunch of fighters. Most of them were men clad in armor wielding swords and spears. There were two other females, a guy with a tail and a young boy. As we all stopped to look at each other, the man in blue armor walked forward to the platform and told us that this was the beginning of our journey in this world. The beginning of countless battles to end all conflict.

The man called himself the “Warrior of Light” and he began by welcoming us to Order’s Sanctuary – the name of this weird crystal place. He then proceeded to explain the reason why we were here in this world, and the things we needed to accomplish. I was right about identifying this world to be different from the one I came from, wherever that is. I was in a different dimension where time was out of joint.

We were summoned by the goddess of harmony, Cosmos, in order to defeat the warriors of Chaos, the god of discord. Apparently, this was a world created by the two Gods as an attempt to tip the balance. This strange world revolved around these two gods, locked in eternal conflict and the fate of us warriors will determine the victor.  The two beings summoned several warriors from different worlds to battle it out for them. Both of the gods were both equally strong and they both desired to have power over the other.

I was filled with doubt and confusion after the Warrior of Light finished speaking and I knew I wasn’t the only one. The other warriors looked dumbfounded as well, but some of them just nodded and accepted the information. There were nothing but questions going through my head. Is this even real? Maybe I’m just dreaming? If all of this is really happening then why was I chosen by the goddess of harmony? Does this goddess even exist? Can we really win against the warriors of Chaos? Why can’t I remember anything?  One question led to another and I was baffled by my own thoughts.

The warrior sensed our confused state as he glanced at each of us. “I am afraid that is all I can tell you as of the moment. The goddess herself has delegated this task to me, to inform you all as to why you were gathered here” He tightened his grip on his sword and added, “We are to set forth and defeat the warriors of Chaos. In order to do so, we all must collect crystals bestowed with the power of the goddess. If we are successful, we may be able to gain our memories back.”

“I believe now is the time for us to get acquainted, and to plan our course of action.” The warrior who spoke introduced himself as Cecil Harvey. He looked nothing short of a noble warrior, with white armor and a lance. Aside from Cecil and Warrior of Light, the other champions of Cosmos were Firion, Onion Knight, Bartz, Jecht, Squall, Zidane, Vaan, Kain, Laguna Yuna and Lightning. It didn’t take us long to get acquainted, because everyone had something distinct about them that made it easy for us to remember each other. For example, Lightning had pink hair. Zidane had a tail.

The Warriors of Cosmos

The Warriors of Cosmos

Each of us set out to collect our crystals. We travelled in small groups and along the way, we encountered some of the Chaos warriors. There would be a few short battles here and there, but no one really emerged victorious. These fights felt like a prelude to an all out battle between the two sides, and we had to prepare ourselves by collecting the crystals which would make us stronger.

Whenever my companions fought certain warriors of Chaos, they said that they would feel a feeling of.. familiarity. They assumed that they must be fighting someone from their world and slowly they began to regain their memories. At one point, I was separated from the group and I came across a man with long silver hair, wearing a black coat. He had a long katana for a weapon.

As soon as I laid eyes on the man, I felt that tug of familiarity my companions often talked about. But there was something else. I felt like I knew this person. That I was supposed to know him. Every fiber of my body was screaming at me to feel hatred and anger. I couldn’t understand why.

“Did you feel that?” the man said as he walked closer to me. “I was told that if I fight someone from my home world, I may be able to trigger memories” he added.

So this person is from my home world then? I took a fighting stance before asking him, “Who are you?”

“I am your enemy,” he said with a devilish smirk. “And that is all you need to know.” Before I could respond, he lunged at me and I barely escaped the tip of his sword – only by an inch. We were locked in a heated battle and I saw once again, an image of a burning town. The difference was, there were dead bodies everywhere and the silver haired man was walking away into the fire. Was he responsible for that fire and those deaths?

Tifa's vision of the silver-haired man and the burning village

Tifa’s vision of the silver-haired man and the burning village

There’s no point in denying it, he was very powerful. He was stronger than the other warriors I’ve fought. As the battle went on, he slowly began to overpower me. I knew I was losing but I refused to give up. Before he could cut me down, our battle was interrupted.

Tifa battling it out with the silver-haired swordsman

Tifa battling it out with the silver-haired swordsman

A blond spiky-haired man entered the fray to lock swords with the silver-haired swordsman. His intervention gave me time to heal and get myself together. I felt that feeling of familiarity again. This person was probably from my world as well. He’s not a warrior of Cosmos, but why is he fighting someone on the same side as him?

A blond-haired swordsman enters the fray

A blond-haired swordsman enters the fray

They seemed to have forgotten I was there, but I decided it was best not to interfere. I could feel some kind of rivalry going on between the two. Were we all connected somehow? What kind of lives did we live in our home world? The questions just keep piling up.

The two soon began to wear out. Before the silver-haired man took his leave, he turned to face me and said, “I will deal with you some other time.” A lone black wing unfurled from his back as he set his eyes on the blond man. “You are nothing but a puppet, Cloud” then he flied away.

A lone black wing emerges from the silver swordsman's back

A lone black wing emerges from the silver swordsman’s back

I looked at the blond and tried to get a good look at his face. Just like with the silver-haired man, I once again felt like I should know who he is, but I just can’t remember anything. Something stirred inside me and I wondered, was he an important person to me?

“You’re not a puppet” I said as I fixed my eyes on him. I don’t know why I said that. It just came out of my mouth, I swear. He seemed surprised by my words, as if I struck something inside him. Then he looked away, as though he was unsure of what to say. “Thank you.. for saving me, I guess.” I shrugged before giving him a smile.

He looked at me again, eyes soft with a hint of sincerity. “Tifa..”

“How do you know my name?” I asked as I walked closer to him. “Do we.. know each other? I don’t really remember much before all this but.. when I saw you, I.. felt like I..” Before I could even finish my sentence, he cut me off. “No. I’ve.. never met you before.” He looked away, eyes distant. I knew he was lying to me. I’m sure he felt it too. That familiarity. But I decided not to press the issue; he didn’t seem much of a talker anyway.

After a few seconds of silence, I spoke again. “So uh.. you’re Cloud, right?” He nodded. “Yes, that’s right. You’re Cloud. You’re.. you.” I I felt that he was bothered with being called a puppet, so I guess what I was about to say was my own way of thanking him. “Whatever that man says, I don’t think you’re a puppet. You’re a warrior of Chaos, and yet.. you rescued me. I don’t know what your reasons are but you did it out of your own free will, right? That doesn’t make you anyone’s puppet. You’re human and you are your own person.”

Most of the Chaos warriors I fought with were vicious and wicked. But this guy, Cloud, was different. For some reason, he gave me hope. That maybe, he wants to remove conflict from this world just like I do. Just like what the other warriors of Cosmos want.  The warriors of Cosmos fight for harmony and peace. To bring an end to this never-ending cycle of war. On the other hand, the warrior of Chaos fight for the opposite. Strife and chaos. They wanted nothing more than to strike down their enemies in order to bring Chaos to victory.

 

The Warriors of Chaos

The Warriors of Chaos

What if.. Cloud was just forced to fight on the opposite side, like I was? Maybe.. he’s not like the others.

“Human.. huh? What does it even mean… to be human” He asked sullenly.

Was he.. doubting his own humanity? Thoughts of human experiments and cloning entered my mind. Are these memories? Everything’s still unclear, but I guessed that it was probably part of Cloud’s past.

“Hmm… being human is.. about being who you are. It’s allowing yourself to feel all kinds of emotions, whether good or bad. It’s about.. not being perfect. Making mistakes, struggling, falling down and getting back up.. being weak or strong.. selfish or selfless.. these are.. the things that make us who we are. It makes us human. Right.” I replied, as though I was assuring myself and not him. “Our imperfections make us human.”

Cloud pondered on the things I said before I interrupted his thoughts. “I’m sorry.. did that even make sense?” I laughed a little before continuing. “I tend to.. say what’s on my mind without really thinking.” I looked at him thoughtfully before I spoke again. “You must be wondering how I’m sure of all this. Well, I guess it’s because I feel like a wanderer most of the time. A wandering soul. Trying to figure out why I’m really here. Searching for truth. I feel kind of lost sometimes, you know? But I don’t really think of it as a weakness. Everyone feels lost sometimes, don’t you think? It’s one of the things that make me who I am. I get lost sometimes but I always find my way back. And it’s all these feelings that tell me, that uh.. make me human. These feelings that we share with others.. is proof of that.”

“You should go.” He turned his back on me. “I don’t feel like fighting today.” He said without a hint of emotion. “You know that we’re on different sides, right? We’ll have to fight eventually. So go back to your friends. Next time, I won’t go easy on you.”

“Well then, thanks for the warning, Cloud.” I bid him goodbye before walking away. I never really knew how.. but sometimes, I just seem to know things. I could feel it.. in my heart. Cloud is a good person, no matter what he said. I felt it so strongly that I couldn’t bring myself to believe his threat. I don’t know if I could ever see him as an enemy. To be honest, I saw him as a hero. He saved me, after all.

Although I was walking around with foggy and incomplete memories, somehow I knew that no matter how unfair the world, or our own fate gets.. there are still good things and good people around. No matter how harsh the world gets, the struggles, the pain… they don’t last forever. They say that humans are selfish by nature. I guess that’s partly true. I don’t think it’s wrong to want something but there are also selfless people out there. I saw a few faces in my head but I couldn’t remember who they are.

The faces Tifa saw in her head when she thought of selflessness

The faces Tifa saw in her head when she thought of selflessness

I also had a feeling that I would see Cloud again. I stopped walking and looked back to take one last glance at Cloud. He was gone.

Then I remembered.

A water tower and a promise made under the stars.

A promise made under the stars.

A promise made under the stars.

fin.

DISCLAIMER:
I DO NOT OWN DISSIDIA FINAL FANTASY. IT BELONGS TO SQUARE ENIX. I AM MERELY BORROWING THE CHARACTERS FOR MY HOMEWORK. I ALSO DO NOT CLAIM OWNERSHIP OF THE IMAGES USED IN THIS POST.
NOTES:
THIS STORY WAS BASED ON AND INSPIRED BY DISSIDIA FINAL FANTASY, DISSIDIA DUODECIM, FINAL FANTASY VII , CRISIS CORE AND ADVENT CHILDREN. THE TITLE COMES FROM A LINE FROM THE POEM LOVELESS IN CRISIS CORE (‘THE WANDERING SOUL KNOWS NO REST’). THE LINE “TIME IS OUT OF JOINT” IS FROM HAMLET BY SHAKESPEARE.
THIS STORY COULD BE CLASSIFIED AS A FANFICTION STORY OF DISSIDIA. I USED TIFA LOCKHART’S POV TO COVER THE MAIN POINTS OF THE ASSIGNMENT, WHICH IS TO EXPRESS OUR VIEWS REGARDING GOD, WHAT IT MEANS TO BE HUMAN AND OUR VIEWS ON THE WORLD OR SOCIETY. I TRIED TO KEEP TIFA IN CHARACTER AS MUCH AS POSSIBLE, BUT BEING AN INEXPERIENCED WRITER, I MAY OR MAY NOT HAVE SUCCEEDED. I TRIED TO PUT IN SOME CANON ELEMENTS IN THE STORY AS WELL, AND I BASED SOME OF THE DIALOGUE FROM ACTUAL SCENES IN DISSIDIA DUODECIM.
SOURCES:

 

HTTP://EN.WIKIPEDIA.ORG/WIKI/DISSIDIA_FINAL_FANTASY

HTTP://EN.WIKIPEDIA.ORG/WIKI/DISSIDIA_012_FINAL_FANTASY

HTTP://FINALFANTASY.WIKIA.COM/WIKI/DISSIDIA_FINAL_FANTASY

HTTP://FINALFANTASY.WIKIA.COM/WIKI/DISSIDIA_012_FINAL_FANTASY

HTTP://FINALFANTASY.WIKIA.COM/WIKI/ORDER%27S_SANCTUARY

HTTP://FINALFANTASY.WIKIA.COM/WIKI/TIFA_LOCKHART

HTTP://FINALFANTASY.WIKIA.COM/WIKI/TIFA_LOCKHART/DISSIDIA

HTTP://FINALFANTASY.WIKIA.COM/WIKI/LOVELESS

THE IMAGES WERE TAKEN FROM ALL OVER THE INTERNET. (GOOGLE, TUMBLR, WEHEARTIT, FFWIKIA)

 
ASSIGNMENT 1 PART 2
 

THERE AND BACK AGAIN BY LENI GARCIA

Posted on June 9, 2013

0

The main point of Leni Garcia’s article was to show us the relationship of philosophy and myths in various time periods. Philosophy is the search for truth, and at one point, myths were the answers to some of man’s greatest questions. In modern times, myths are popular stories considered as fantasies. In short, people now believe that it holds no truth. However in the past, myths were believed to be true. Over time, philosophy began to sever itself from mythical influences.  It may seem far removed from myths but it still carries parts of it within it. Philosophy, for a long time, has undergone a journey to find itself and now, according to the article, “it is ready to turn back, to be born anew, carrying a face of truth through a new – philosophical – mode of mythic thinking”.

ASSIGNMENT 1 PART 1

Leave a Reply

